Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help me identify this tool?

Help me identify this tool?

I'm studying David Charlesworth's new The Through Dovetail DVD, and I've noticed a small precision square he uses to check squareness of tails with the face. Here are some unauthorized screen shots for reference (sorry, David):

DLC dovetail square.jpg DLC square 2.jpg

Anyone have experience with this tool? Where can I get one?

Sterling Toolworks makes something similar, and maybe its rule's tiny end is even smaller than the one above, but I think the overall tool might be larger in the hand:

Sterling dovetail square.jpg

In the meantime, I've made a little one out of cherry that might end up serving me well enough, but I want to look at all the possible sources because I only want to do this once.

Thanks for the help.

Blog Entries
    My first solution for a square to check dovetails was to make one:

Dovetail Square & Saw Handle.jpg

It was nice having a square to check joinery. After a while one was purchased from Lee Valley > https://www.leevalley.com/en-us/shop...-double-square

It is very useful. My shop made square was given to my grandson.

jtk
    Last edited by Jim Koepke; 06-13-2020 at 2:15 AM.
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Quote Originally Posted by Bob Jones 5443 View Post
    ... Anyone have experience with this tool? Where can I get one? ...
    I'm not sure, it looks like the Lee Valley Small Double Square to me.

There are several small squares available. The Sterling, or the Sterling blade in a 2nd PEC double square body, was the first I was aware of. I think Chris Vesper makes a very nice one. I'm not sure who originated the idea or if anyone even claims to be first.