Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: INCRA or Sawstop router lift or other? (PCS tablesaw shopping)

INCRA or Sawstop router lift or other? (PCS tablesaw shopping)

I am a hobbyist and have decided to get a router table with INCRA fence. Because I don’t have storage space in my garage for a separate table, I’m looking hard at the Sawstop PCS saw, replacing Dad’s 70-y/o Rockwell, and adding the right-wing router table. It’s a win for storage, and a win to get the incremental fence on both the saw and router. A big win is the PCS folding outfeed table.

I would like to use the router table and INCA fence to make finger and dovetail joints. Sometimes I make weird stuff for work.

For the router lift, I see a few choices:

1. Sawstop RT-LFT
    2. INCRA-MAST-R-LIFT-II (Jessem lift with INCRA magnetic inserts)
    3. Use the unlifted plain-jane INCRA solid Magnalock RT plate I have sitting new in a box (MLP690890-AL). I don’t do work this all day long, so could save some dollars or sell it new.

I’m leaning towards the INCRA lift… made in Canada vs Taiwan? Here’s a YouTube comparison of sorts. I have ordered and am waiting on delivery for a fixed Makita RF1101 router, deciding on Makita over Porter Cable. My other routers are Festool 1400 and Shaper Origin.

I hear the Sawstop feels Taiwanese, although the cast iron top should be fine spec’ed to .010”. Currently, I’m figuring as pictured: 1.75hp (save $ over 3hp?), mobile base, folding outfeed table, and right-side router table. It will barely fit in my garage storage space.

And then I throw away the Sawstop fences and put on the INCRA TS-LS Fence. Like this poster.

There will be some work remounting the Sawstop outfeed table outside the rear INCRA rail, like this.

And then I’ll need suggestions for a small mobile dust collector. I have heard that my Festool CT-26 at 137cfm isn’t enough.

Any red flags? Besides that I’ll be broke.

TS_rail_clearance.jpg
    2020-04-26_Grants_SawStop_1020073.jpg