Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Backup Software/Security

Blog Entries

Backup Software/Security

Having just cleared over 60 GB of files from my N360_backup folder (Norton) then having it repopulate three days later, I am looking for other solutions. I see it gets terrible reviews as a backup program. Cloud based or external hard drive (I have a WD Passport)? I wouldn't mind dumping Norton completely as I am now running Win 10 which, I am told is quite secure without addons. I do a lot of surfing. The reviews on https://www.cloudwards.net/ suggest Backblaze at $60 per year as a cloud based, unlimited storage solution. What do you folks do for security and backup?
    NOW you tell me...

Blog Entries
    I use an inexpensive 1TB USB drive and "AllwaySync". I run incremental backups about once a week and have for longer than I care to think about. I've been using Allway for many years. Even when I worked in IT I had trouble filling a 1TB drive. Probably just file management habits left over from before storage was cheap.
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 04-21-2020 at 3:09 PM.
    "A hen is only an egg's way of making another egg".

– Samuel Butler

I'm paranoid so I have cloud based - Carbonite - and a small local RAID server that I back up to. The small server I have is Synology and I have four 8TB drives in it which gives me a bit less than 24TB of storage. The reason for cloud based is that if your house burns down and your computer and server is destroyed you still have everything in the cloud.

Mike
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

Blog Entries
    I've used the free version of Veeam for years. It is rock solid, fast & reliable. I have a fireproof safe with a hard drive in it for back ups. And it isn't a recourse hog. I don't notice at all when it runs for it's 3 - 5 minute daily backup. I highly recommend it. Veeam Agent for Microsoft Windows is the product that is free.