Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Laguna 1836 a few questions

Laguna 1836 a few questions

Hi all,

I have been researching lathe upgrade possibilities and I am starting to gravitate to a Laguna 1836. I have read a lot of the useful threads here and some of the posted reviews which have been very helpful. I have a few questions:

1) I like to turn outside. With the apparently excellent wheel system, can the heavy 1836 be moved around and outside easily?

2) I do not have 220 volt service in my shop but it would not be all that difficult or expensive to get it installed. I have not done it before because I am a weekend woodworker and I don’t do a huge volume of work nor do I do very large pieces. Although I do plan on doing some 16” bowls. So for example my 1.5 hp Jet dust collector (120v) suits my needs fine. The question is: is the additional power very important that it would be worth upgrading the service and getting the 2 HP 1836 versus the 1.5 Hp model?

3) Pulleys and vibration: the Nova Orion (which is another option for me, although out of stock until the summer) touts its direct drive headstock as reducing vibration. I have no problem with the two speed ranges on the Laguna. Just wondering what users have experienced in terms of vibration with a pulley system.

thanks for your advice.

I have the 1836 and can answer a few questions. #1 on mobility. the lathe is pretty heavy but I have mine on a homemade lift and on a plywood floor. It's a beast to move, but not impossible. My issue with moving is room. There's so much in my shop that gets in the way. I cannot comment on the Laguna mobility system because I have no experience with it, but if it works as good or better than mine, there shouldn't be a problem.

#2, I have the 220 volt model so I cannot compare the two. I would think that you would not have any issues unless you maxed it out with a heavy, large object.