Thread: Pantorouter, Shaper Origin, CNC router

Pantorouter, Shaper Origin, CNC router

I'm looking for some advice. I'm a avid hobbyist and retired. With more available time, I'm trying new, more complex projects. I have a technical background and enjoy the learning and designing as much as the doing. Through the years I've done a lot with some poor quality tools but I can now afford better machines. I am doing more joinery these days and with my current tools, I don't enjoy it. I was looking at the Festool domino but the Pantorouter (metal product - not hand made wooden one), seems more capable and fits what I'd like to try. However I was wondering if the Shaper Origin with a tenon jig (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=En-gUB33o4g) could do the same function and get me into some other CNC capabilities. But then I wonder, could a good CNC router machine be capable of this plus a whole lot more? CNC woodworking is appealing. The learning curve is a pro for me, not a con.

Based on my limited knowledge, I'm thinking the Shaper Origin may be able to do what the pantorouter does for a little more cost but I'd have to build some jigs and fixtures and the outcome maybe wouldn't be as accurate. Also, a flat bed 3-axis CNC router may not be a good tool for joinery. Can some CNC routers extend their travel past the bed to cut tenons? If so, their capability in terms of accuracy, depth of cut, freedom of shapes would be attractive. I know the cost is probably 5 times more but worth consideration. Thoughts?