Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: help On buying new or used co2 laser

help On buying new or used co2 laser

Hi,

I’m new to the forums but have been reading for a few days and wanted to post an inquiry. I am new to lasers. I got interested after watching a glow forge video. I quickly realized that wasn’t for me and began researching what else was available. As I’m sure you all know the market can be a bit overwhelming from eBay Chinese lasers to higher quality Chinese lasers to name brand lasers. Trying to decide on glass tubes or metal tubes, what wattage to get,stepper motors or servo, table options, bed sizes, desktop or not and the list goes on. I have been watching the Russ Sadler Videos and was ready to go chinese, then I watched his Think Laser videos and thought that was perfect but with exchange and shipping from UK that is outside my budget.

Im in Canada so my original budget for the top of the line glow forge was CAN $10k. I would like to spend less but for the right machine I am willing to spend that. I have Trotec and Epilogue showrooms within 10 minutes of where I live. I’m a little nervous to go for a demo as I’m a bit of an impulse buyer and feel they would sell me on a system that isn’t the best for me. I am looking to start a business selling personalized gift items, signage, jewellery etc that will supplement my income now and when I retire in a few years. I think my engraving to cutting ratio would be 50/50. I would like to be able to cut up to 1/4” (although 1/2” would be really good). I had a couple of questions that I can hope you can help with.

1. Are there any resources for finding used machines in the US or Canada?
    2. Do you get the same quality of engraving and cutting from a chinese laser and a name brand laser of the same watts? there is some part of me that feels that the quality of items I produce will be better if I buy a name brand.