Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456
Results 76 to 90 of 90

Thread: Tinker toy and waste of money?

  1. #76
    Regardless, it's too late.

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    619
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill George View Post
    Call and change your order, why buy twice and waste your money, very short sighted? You can never make it too strong. If it was me I would use 1" steel round bar.

    But it's not you!
    Last edited by David Buchhauser; 02-18-2020 at 1:10 AM.

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in the Land of Lincoln
    Posts
    1,097
    Larry keep us updated on how this progresses. One advantage I can see for you will be that you will have great insight into how your machine works and why. Who knows this might be a springboard to your next machine. Good luck on this and post photos please.

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,494
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronald Blue View Post
    Larry keep us updated on how this progresses. One advantage I can see for you will be that you will have great insight into how your machine works and why. Who knows this might be a springboard to your next machine. Good luck on this and post photos please.
    Ditto and this could be a machine I have in the retirement home, I can build to fit in a small garage.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller

  5. #80
    Will do.

    Just got my parts today.
    Built my tabletop yesterday.
    Since it's cold for a day or two, I'll have to wait to cut my conduit and start assembly.
    No heat in shop and I'm a wussy in my old age.

    The electronics part worries me a little since I am less than clueless.

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,494
    So Larry is it up and running yet?
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller

  7. #82


    Everything's still in the box, unopened, Bill.

    Trying to finish a project that's taking up a lot of my floor space and it's going low but I can see the end.

    I haven't been out much to the shop due to temps (no heat)
    I think spring is starting to spring so I expect more shop time.

    I do have a table built, though.

    Thanks for asking

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,494
    My big machine is sold, downsizing for move went to this Kit $700 to my door, controls another $200. Router I already owned.

    KitJPG.JPG
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller

  9. #84
    Looks good, Bill.
    Where did you find that?

  10. #85
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,494
    Quote Originally Posted by Larry Foster View Post
    Looks good, Bill.
    Where did you find that?
    eBay, search for Work Bee Bulkman 3D sells complete kits or machines minus the control system which I did. Then I went with Mach3 controller system. FaceBook has a lot of Groups on DIY.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    51,495
    Bill, can you use the more current Mach4 with it?
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

  12. #87
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,494
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Becker View Post
    Bill, can you use the more current Mach4 with it?
    Nobody seems to know, but since I have a license for both 3 & 4 I am going to try. Not a lot of know how or experience on those forums or groups. I just want a machine I can put in a garage and roll out when needed. I have zero illusions about flex or speed. I looked at both Shapeoko and X-Carve and they use the GRBL system which is toy control system. Forums are loaded with the folks that purchased that and the belt drives!! At least the Work Bee has the screw drive and Mach3 options and I am sure Acorn would be great also, but I don't have the Windows 10 computer. The one I do have has Pro and I keep it from upgrading but its not headed for the shop!
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    51,495
    I was just curious because Mach-3 is "ancient" at this point and superseded by Mach-4. Support may be better if you can get it to run.
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    619
    Mach4 Minimum System Requirements

    • Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, and Windows 10
    • An appropriate external motion controller.
    • Mach4 Plugin for the selected Motion Controller.
    • 2Ghz CPU.
    • 1GB RAM.
    • Video Card with 256MB RAM (Large G-code files, especially 3D files will require a video card with 512MB RAM or higher)


    https://www.machsupport.com/software/mach4/
    Mach4 Software Requirements.jpg
    Last edited by David Buchhauser; 03-22-2020 at 1:35 AM.

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,494
    This one from Build your CNC claims to run Mach4 https://buildyourcnc.com/item/electr...ach3-USB-Board
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •