Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: Touch Screen Computer

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    519
    I mainly use the wireless keyboard for jogging the machine in x or y, or up or down with Z. This is usually when I need to stand right at the machine to align my spindle (with pointer in the collet) for G54 coordinates. I just use the right/left and up/down arrows for the x and y, and page up and page down for spindle up/down.
    David

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Medina Ohio
    Posts
    3,877
    Quote Originally Posted by bobby milam View Post
    Use the same for now but I'm about 8 feet away from screen and cant read the functions and can't remember what they are so end up walking back to use mouse to change the speed or something else. It sucks to get old first the eyesite goes then the memory
    I use a 42 inch tv as my monitor I can see it from anywhere in the CNC room

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Marquette, MI USA
    Posts
    439
    Bill...
    A bit late to the dance here, but I never offered touchscreen computers for sale. Lenovo "Tiny" USFF CNC-PC computers only. Never with a monitor.

    I do use a few touchscreens tho: On my CNC lathe conversion and on my CNC "Drill-O-Matic" control board drilling machine I use the 15.6" ASUS touchscreen, mostly for their small size. On my Mill and the soon to be built ATC-40Tool fabber machine I use the 22" ViewSonic single touch resistive. I have used the consumer grade Acer models, but the touch feature puked after 6-8 months on each and every one.

    Both work well but each have a feature or two the other doesn't. Depending on the control software that you use one may work better than the other
    Gary Campbell
    CNC Technology & Training

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,455
    Thanks Gary. Kind of gotten out of the touchscreen for the shop. Now looking at a Dell used all in one 24 inch touch screen with lots of RAM (16 gb) fast processor and SSD HD. It looks newish but my concern is all the refubs? This is not, just owned by someone who never found a use for it. I would use for my primary VCarve designed computer and perhaps running the machine.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller, Fine Line Automation 4x4 CNC Router- Mach4 ESS

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,455
    So can a AIO computer with 16 gB and SSD run VCarve Pro, this Dell I am (will be) looking at has a 24 inch monitor.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller, Fine Line Automation 4x4 CNC Router- Mach4 ESS

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    50,692
    Quote Originally Posted by Bill George View Post
    So can a AIO computer with 16 gB and SSD run VCarve Pro, this Dell I am (will be) looking at has a 24 inch monitor.
    You can run VCP with 4GB RAM, so you shouldn't have any issues with the setup you mention. VCP/Aspire in general isn't really an intensive program other than rendering very complex 3D things at the highest resolutions. It's much better with a minimum of 8GB, IMHO, but 16GB is so inexpensive these days...go for it.
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Iowa USA
    Posts
    3,455
    Thanks Jim, we are headed back to the North Pole this week end and It will make my design work easier,
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa. , LightObject 40w CO2 Laser and Chiller, Fine Line Automation 4x4 CNC Router- Mach4 ESS

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    50,692
    Hah! I'm heading in the opposite direction...but unfortunately, only for a week and a chunk of that is taking care of a personal care issue for my 89 yo kid/mom.
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •