Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: venting dust collector outside???

venting dust collector outside???

I don't heat or cool my shop normally. In the winter the typical temp is 55* F or 12* C so there is no need to heat unless I am finishing peices. If I am finishing I am not running there DC.

So venting outside is an option, but I have neighbours very close to my shop wall and I don't want blow dust all over their house.

For those who vent outside, how much of a mess does it make? (I will be using a super dust deputy cyclone and 2hp blower with 12" impeller)

We're lucky enough that our can is in s very isolated, contained nook. If not, this mess would blow all over the place.
    Attached Images Attached Images

It kind of depends on how much material you are running through your machines. I vent out into my yard and have about a 12-15' diameter of chips falling on my yard. It decomposes and does not build up because I'm just a hobbyist and run a limited amount of material each week. Some weeks I do not run any. If you have a lot of material like Johnny's photo, no way would you vent that out into the open. My closet neighbor's house is about 50', no complaints.

Depends.

I'm currently running a grizzly cyclone, and other than the obnoxious sound like a clothes drier running a little too loud you would not know it was working. Generally cyclones will collect enough dust that what's blow outside is so minimal you'd need a surface that was flat and smooth to notice. With single stage collectors you might end up with other issues.

Quote Originally Posted by jeff norris 2011 View Post
    For those who vent outside, how much of a mess does it make? (I will be using a super dust deputy cyclone and 2hp blower with 12" impeller)
    I've the same arrangement blowing outside at my place in the Catskills and the minimal bit of discharge is some flour-like sawdust. Certainly preferable to have the fines outside as opposed to floating around the shop space.