Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Do Veterans like being "thanked for their service"?

Do Veterans like being "thanked for their service"?

"Thank you for your service" has become more popular and common than I ever remember in the past. Even among television newscasters, show hosts and Hollywood types.

The subject over whether veterans like the gesture or not came up over some happy hour talk. I have a group of veteran friends, different ages, some having served in war theater and others not.

I got different answers among my small sample group, some surprising. This makes me conflicted about whether to engage in the practice myself. I have noticed we have a lot of veterans here, so I thought I might solicit some opinions in the search of good etiquette. Thanks

Blog Entries
    As a vet, I don't mind people thanking me. I served during the Viet Nam and first Iraq conflict, but never served in either location or any other war zone. I did have stuff thrown at me and endured verbal abuse during the Viet Nam era. When I see Vets, we generally acknowledge each other and sometimes we speak and compare service experiences. I tell Viet Nam Vets that I appreciate what they did and am glad they made it home. Most were not welcomed at the time. I did serve 5 years active duty and 21 in the Reserves for a total of 26 years.
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 01-02-2020 at 1:41 PM.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute