Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beginner Table Saw

Beginner Table Saw

I had recently decided on a Grizzly G0771Z table Saw and will likely pick one up soon. I do not anticipate needing more than a 2HP motor but I would like a good fence and dust collection. I learned that the G1023RL has the features that I would like to eventually have. In fact, if it were not for the requirement of 220V power I would have already changed my mind to the G1023RL. I also realized that the rails on the G0771Z are aluminum which was disappointing.

Will it be possible to add features to a G0771Z such as steel/iron rail and fence, dust collection, etc. as money and time permit? Are there any other factors I should consider? I am quite set on buying a Grizzly product.

I just took one last look at the Grizzly site and found the G0833P, could this be a good option rewired for 120V?

Thanks so much for any advice, I'm a beginning woodworker.

Justin,
    I just upgraded my table saw in my small hobby shop and went with the Grizzly G0690 cabinet saw. I upgraded from a contractors saw. BIG improvement !!! It stretched my budget but I figured it could be the last table saw that I buy. So......you might look at it that way. Your already thinking about upgrading things before you buy and those upgrades will NOT make the 771z a Cabinet saw.
    I am very happy with my 690 and am pleased that I decided to spend the extra money now and enjoy my saw every time I use it and not think about upgrading in the future. There are so many options and directions to go for a beginner. Buy a bench top saw and make sure you like the hobby and then upgrade to a bigger saw.....or buy a big saw from the start and then you have something of value to sell if you don't like the hobby
    There are several ways to look at it.