Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: Considering a router lift

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    6,307
    Blog Entries
    7
    Iíve had the incra mast-r- lift II for better than 10 years now, works great. I use it daily.

    Imo the speed thing is a non issue.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Stone Mountain, GA
    Posts
    488
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Jones 5443 View Post
    Today I saw a Porter Cable 75182 router mounted in an Incra Mast-R-Lift II in my Rockler store. I noticed they had removed the variable speed slider knob and wondered why. Then I measured the knob on a free machine and the darn thing doesnít clear the steel shafts! I ordered the Jessem (Rockler doesnít carry Jessemís brand because the Incra version makes a plate to fit Rocklerís table), but I assume the Incra version uses the same shaft dimensions and clearances. Has anyone run into this? I donít want to remove the speed slider if I move up to the 75182. Itís probably not going to be a problem, because Iíll likely stay with my variable speed PC 690.
    I have a 75182 mounted in an Incra Mastr-R-Left 2. I just oriented the speed switch 90 degrees to the posts.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Lafayette, CA
    Posts
    118
    Brian,

    I guess we can compensate for speed control with feed rate to some extent, as long as we avoid burning (with large diameter bits).

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Lafayette, CA
    Posts
    118
    I thought the speed knob was set in the narrowest part of the router.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Stone Mountain, GA
    Posts
    488
    Don't think so. All I can say is that I have that router and that lift, and I didn't have to remove anything from the router to mount it. The switch is mounted 90 degrees from the posts.

    Here's a picture of one mounted in an Incra Mast-R-Lift:

    INCRA-Mast-R-Lift-II-3T.jpg

    That's how mine is oriented. I don't know why Woodcraft would mount it so that the switch has to be removed.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    6,307
    Blog Entries
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Jones 5443 View Post
    Brian,

    I guess we can compensate for speed control with feed rate to some extent, as long as we avoid burning (with large diameter bits).
    Pretty sure the OP was talking about speed to raise and lower. I do super quickly, so I can't imagine additional speediness being really high priority in that area.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    50,681
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Jones 5443 View Post
    Brian,

    I guess we can compensate for speed control with feed rate to some extent, as long as we avoid burning (with large diameter bits).
    Larger bits require slower speed for safety above all...remember, the wider the cutter, the faster the "tip speed" will be relative to how fast the motor is revolving.
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •