Thread: Fresh cut cherry crotch, what should i do now?

Fresh cut cherry crotch, what should i do now?

A cherry tree fell the end of last winter and i just got around to cutting the crotch. I cut it out last night, sealed the ends and cut it this morning. I assume it will want to crack/split, should i seal it with Anchorseal and let it dry slowly?

Thanks
    Brian

20191126_131638_DxO.jpg
    The significant problems we encounter cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.

The penalty for inaccuracy is more work

Hi Brian,

I'm new to cutting my own bowl blanks, so keep the salt shaker handy. I let some cherry sit for over a year before splitting and sealing. Overall, the cherry was pretty forgiving, and didn't split that much. Maple mistreated in the same manner split more readily. Those pieces look too interesting to throw in the firewood pile. Unless space is a premium, it's worth a shot. I don't think sealing the long grain is recommended, but I'm willing to be educated...

Cheers,
    Brian

What do you want to make with it?

Thanks Brian. Since i only had time to to make the one cut I went ahead and sealed the long grain. I should be able to make the second cuts today, if the rain stops......

Bill, the plan is to make the next cut to about 2 1/2" thickness, dry it in a homemade kiln then trim the ends and join it to make a small table top. Basically just move the 2 pieces together
    The significant problems we encounter cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them.

When I dry stuff like that I do it outdoors and under a tree so it dries slowly. A year from now you can take it in.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian Dehmlow View Post
    Hi Brian,