Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Total Newbie trying to figure my base requirements.

Total Newbie trying to figure my base requirements.

So while at Woodcraft yesterday, I signed up for their 'Intro to CNC' class, but that's not until Dec 5th, so I'm itching for more info.

I have space for a 48x96 machine on the upper floor of my external garage, but realistically, probably don't have the budget or the need for such a beast.

For the actual CNC machine, my budget is around $2500, but that also needs to cover all the software for design as well as cutting. Right now I'm leaning towards an X-Carve from Inventables, but can easily be persuaded if there is something better. I also have the option of selling a couple of motorcycles that would increase my budget significantly ($7k-$10K).

Currently, my main computer is a 2015 15" MacBook Pro. I also have a retired 2010 MacBook Pro laptop which, if possible, would like to use to drive the cutting procedure. I have a bunch of old Windows PC's which I might be able to recommission, but they are at least 8 years old. I do have a 21" Dell monitor, not sure if i could use this with my MacBook, but I wouldn't be too averse to buying a new monitor.

This is going to be completely hobbyist at this time. This is just a next step in a progression of retirement hobbies.

Thanks you for you thoughts and suggestions.
    Last edited by ChrisA Edwards; 11-10-2019 at 10:59 AM.