Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First go at an operating arch topped window

First go at an operating arch topped window

This is my first attempt at making an operating arched window. I did almost everything by hand and made many mistakes along the way. Hand sticking the profiles led to variations in the moulding and aggravating chip out on the short grain sections. The curved pieces are steam bent and profiled. If I had a router bit with a matching profile about half way through I most likely would have used it. Working small curved pieces by hand is a challenge. It gives me a greater respect to the guys who did it in the past. Chip out was a MAJOR problem. Climb cutting on a shaper with a feeder is almost foolproof. Shaping by hand and one begins to feel the fool. At a certain point I resolved to fill some of the chipped out bits.

Another thing I would do differently would be to simply cope all of the meeting members instead of half lapping. Trying to half lap two meeting curved parts was interesting. Still have the screen to make before it can be installed. It has been a lot of time invested in a bathroom window.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Looks great! I've worked on many old, handmade sash, including a couple of giant arched ones. There is always a lot of "chip out" on them-even the ones with all straight parts. Not many people, but us, look at them that closely.

Looks real good! I've made them two or three times, you don't get a lot of orders but they seem to always be large
    orders like 16 or so. Never heard of half lapping the bars but I'm sure it makes a good job ! I used glue and small brads.
    Today I would use the PL Polyurethane adhesive. My favorite wood for them is North Eastern white pine used " bark side to weather"

Blog Entries
    Looks great from here.

Did you take any build pics? They would likely be of interest others beside myself.

jtk