Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting photos off old hard drive

Getting photos off old hard drive

OK so I got a new refurbed pc , I took the hard drive out of the old pc and scrapped the case. I'd like to get the pictures off that drive but have no idea how to go about it. I'm just a little tech savy so any instuctions would have to be very detailed. Like what hardware or software would i need and how to go about it.can anyone explaine the process in dummy language thanks.
    If the Help and advice you received here was of any VALUE to you PLEASE! Become a Contributor
    Rabbit RL_XX_6040-60 watt Laser engraving/cutting machine Oh wait its a 3D Printer my bad LOL
    Lasercut 5.3
    CorelDraw X5

10" Miter Saw with slide
    10" Table Saw
    8" bench mount 5 speed Drill Press
    Dremel, 3x21 Belt Sander

You can get a hard drive reader pretty cheap from Newegg. It plugs into the drive, and a port on your computer. Then just copy what folders you want onto the new hard drive. Notice what interface the hard drive uses. It shows up as some other drive letter on My Computer, so you don't really need any extra software. You can get them to read about any type of hard drive, regardless of how old. I always save the old hard drives when I build a new computer, and have some 20 years old that I can still read, if I need to.