Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Length for Panel (Hand) Saw? (Backless)

Length for Panel (Hand) Saw? (Backless)

OK,

So, I'm ready to purchase a few new saws. I'd like to get a rip cut "panel" saw as well as as a backless crosscut "panel" saw.
    I put panel in quotes as I've spent the last few hours pouring over the relevant sections of The Anarchist's Tool Chest, Bad Axe Saw's website, various popular wood working articles, and Sawmillcreek.org and I see that the use of "Hand Saw" and "Panel Saw" used to have a historical distinction, but now... now so much. So I'm not limiting my question to the shorter saws historically classified as panel saws).

My first venture into hand saws was over 15 years ago as a neophyte hobbyist (now I'm an intermediate hobbyist) and freshly influenced from Tag Fried's book I purchased a rip and crosscut frame saw. Never could saw a straight line with them. Shortly after I purchased a tablesaw and my rip sawing has ever since been on that beast.

Now, here I am getting back in touch with the hobby some years later. I'm drawn every more to the handwork that got in into woodworking in the first place. So, I'd like to get some good "panel" saws.

I was looking at Lie-Neilson, and Vintage, and Bad Axe... and though I love the idea of searching for a vintage quality like a Disston, I just don't have the time. So, I want to buy saws I'll use for the rest of my days and I don't mind spending bank on a premium saw. (I just ordered a Dovetail/Carcase/Tenon trio from Bad Axe).

But what length? So many sources state that 22" or less are "panel" saws for furniture makes. And the longer models were meant for house carpenters. But C. Schwarz seems to favor longer stuff. But I don't have his benefit of using a bunch of saws for years.

I'm 5' 8" tall.