Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spray finishing advice

Spray finishing advice

Looking to start spraying finishes for cabinets and furniture. I have no experience with spraying at all. Looking for advice on how to start and what type of laquer is good to get my feet wet,so to speak. Is it necessary to have a spray booth set up for water borne finishes ? Also ,I remember seeing a book on spray finishing somewhere,does anyone have a good recommendation ?

Mike:

During my kitchen building project I bought an HVLP system Powered by a turbine. It is a 4-stage unit and has worked well for the water-borne finish I used.

My « spray booth » was fairly rudimentary but did the job of limiting the dispersion of the overspray. As your your shop is much larger than mine (single car garage) you should not have difficulty in rigging something that could fold out of the way when not needed.

I am a hobbyist; your needs may differ.

Regards,

J.
    Last edited by Jacques Gagnon; 09-19-2019 at 3:49 PM. Reason: Spelling

For spraying water borne finishes you do not need a "spray booth" like you would for solvent based products, but you still need good ventilation, preferably with a way to catch the fines that will get into the air during the spray process from overspray and also still need to wear a proper respirator and vision protection. Frankly, I have an area of my shop that I use for spraying that's pretty informal and I only use water borne finishes...and sometimes a little shellac when I can have the doors open.