Thread: Aniline dye frustrations

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Aniline dye frustrations

This is my first time using aniline dye. The instructions say to add to mediums such as benzol, touol, turpentine, Naptha, lacquer thinner, tung oil, etc. and stir frequently for the first hour. I chose to use turpentine. I’ve been stirring it frequently for a few hours and it simply is not dissolving. Am I doing something wrong? I chose turpentine only because it seemed less volatile. Should I use something else?
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

What specific product are you using?

Quote Originally Posted by John TenEyck View Post
    What specific product are you using?
    J.E. Moser's aniline dye stain #845247

Several reviews say it's easily mixed so I must be doing something wrong.
    Last edited by Bruce Page; 09-14-2019 at 4:07 PM.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

I've never used that product. The internet says that dye you have is water soluble. I've always used Mohawk Ultra Penetrating Stain. It comes already mixed with alcohol.

Bruce, it sounds like you have the instructions for their oil based product, but actually have a water based product. I’ve had similar problems with trying to use water based dye in oil.

Try it in water and see how it mixes.

Quote Originally Posted by Edward Dyas View Post
    I've never used that product. The internet says that dye you have is water soluble. I've always used Mohawk Ultra Penetrating Stain. It comes already mixed with alcohol.
    Ed, Scott, the directions say it is water, alcohol, & oil soluble. I’m trying to stain some MDF so I didn’t want to go with water. I may have no choice.

Andy Rooney