Thread: Troubleshooting assistance needed for Delta Unisaw 34-806

Unhappy Troubleshooting assistance needed for Delta Unisaw 34-806

Hello, I recently upgraded to a Delta Unisaw Model 34-806, and am having some difficulties with getting it set up. Any and all suggestions are welcome. The problem is that I cannot get the saw to start with the start switch. I don't believe the motor is bad, because if I manually bridge the magnetic contactor, then it turns, and stays on (as long as I keep the contacts in place with my insulated screw driver). This has been the case before and after I have replaced the Magnetic Contactor Motor Starter #583-00-001-0066. In both cases I the mag coil hasn't seemed to turned on and engaged the contacts. I am fairly new to wood working, and even newer to electrical stuff, so if I have left out any pertinent information, or have ended up over looking anything obvious, then I greatly appreciate your patience and understanding. Below are any and all details I can think to list. Finally thank you to all who spend the time looking over this and offering their assistance. The Starter Diagram is attached, as well as the Phase a Matic Converter information.

I have found the instruction manual at: https://www.manualslib.com/manual/72...NISAW%2034-806
    The Phase a Matic Instruction manual can be found here: https://phaseconverters.phase-a-matic.com/Asset/SIS.pdf

Saw: Delta Unisaw #34-806
    Motor: 3 Phase, 5hp, 230v Motor #87-369
    Phase Converter: Phase a Matic #PAM-900
    Mag Contactor: #583-00-001-0066
    Attached Images Attached Images

So when you push the start switch, the contactor doesn't pull in? Do you have the "connect as per line voltage wire connected to the 230V tap of the control transformer? Is the fuse blown?

Also, do you have the correct overload relay and heater for the size motor you have? You could try *temporarily* jumping the OL contacts if you don't have a meter to check the overload relay.