Thread: Long Tool Rest for Spindle Turning

Long Tool Rest for Spindle Turning

I'm a turning newbie. Making my first Galbert perch stool. It's interesting to me that the Galbert-style spindles are somewhat segmented. Turn a segment, move the tool rest, turn a segment, move the tool rest...etc. Not sure if the segmented design might be intentional for ease of turning by the novice turner with a basic (+/- 10") tool rest. My Oneway 1224 tool rest is 11-in.

I'm interested to know a) what length tool rest the more experienced long-spindle turners use and b) do you custom make your own or purchase said tool rest?

Unless there are good reasons not to, my plan is to custom make my own long wooden tool rest(s) like I see Pete Galbert, Curtis Buchanan, Elia Bizzarri et al using.

Robert,

How long are your spindles? As you imply, a rest long enough to cover the entire spindle is very much desired. I turn a lot of thin spindles and I use the 14" Robust rest which is good for most of my spindles. As a bonus, the Robust rests are my favorites because of how they are made.

Brent indicates he can make a rest to order up to 36" long, as per the bottom of this page: http://www.turnrobust.com/tool-rests/ I have no idea about the cost.

A long rest will, of course, require a second banjo or at least a shop-made banjo-like support.

I've seen others make long rests from wood. If making one, I would be inclined to use a length of steel on the top for longer wear, perhaps a strip screwed to the back side of the wood support. In fact, if you have simple metal-working capability or know someone who does, you could easily weld a couple of steel posts on the bottom of a long steel rod, tube, or better, a piece of angle iron such as 2.5x1.5". (I personally don't like thick round tool rests.) I've made tool rests this way.

JKJ

Quote Originally Posted by Robert Galey View Post