Thread: A second quick framing question

Question A second quick framing question

So far, so good on framing up my shop in my unfinished basement but here's something I can't find information on. The framing for the stairs ends right at their foot and it's about 80 inches to the opposite wall. My shop is to the right and I'm going to add a wall to the framing for the stairs to bridge that distance to the opposite wall. There will be a door in this new wall (and obviously the wall is non-load-bearing). Ideally, I'd like the door to be as close to the stairs as possible and I've thought of two options (bearing in mind, I'm a novice at this). First, use the existing stair frame as the king stud, add a jack stud and header (with cripples etc). I'm not crazy about this because I'd have to toe-nail or (or preferably screw) the jack stud into the existing stair frame rather than nail through a new king stud were I assembling this in a more standard situation and I wouldn't be able to secure the bottom of the jack stud to the floor (though if it's secured well to the existing stair framing, I guess that's not a big deal. Second, give up my hope of having the door immediately at the bottom of the stairs, locate it 10 inches or so from the stairs. I'm leaning this way because it means framing the wall pretty much standard and that works for my limited experience. I suspect after a while, I wouldn't mind the difference; I'm just accustomed to coming downstairs and turning into the shop. Yes, I'm probably overthinking this.

Any advice?