Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 16" Radial Arm Saw help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    87

    16" Radial Arm Saw help

    Hey guys, I just purchased a 1959 near mint condition Dewalt Radial Arm saw. I know RAS is out of favor these days, but it was a great price and the vintage aspect was too cool to pass up at the price I paid ($25). It is a 16" saw. Do any of you 16" RAS users have a blade recommendation? I'm having trouble finding many -hook optiones in that size.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    420
    haha oh my lord, $25?? Fantastic buy. There is a lot of bad sentiments towards RAS, but id love to have one of the big dewalts or a northfield setup for rough cutting parts. Theres a 20" dewalt in my area that would do perfectly at $500. $25 for the 16" is even better. Cant help you on the blade recommendation, but congrats on the buy.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    McKinney, TX
    Posts
    1,634
    Check with D&R saw in Dallas on Harry Hines just north of Walnut Hill Ln
    Steve Jenkins, McKinney, TX. 469 742-9694
    Always use the word "impossible" with extreme caution

  4. #4
    I run an Everlast blade on my RAS's.

    Yes, they are 5 degree positive hook, but never an issue with these large heavy saws.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    87
    Thanks to both of you! I'll check out D&R. The saw has a 7.5 HP 3 phase motor, so I'm finishing up building a phase converter to run it. Will post some pics once it get everything in its final home.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Dickinson, Texas
    Posts
    6,437

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    KC
    Posts
    723
    I run a woodworker on my GE. -5 deg hook. The blade is a screamer. I'd call the guys at Quinn saw. They'll offer good advise.

  8. #8
    I've got a DeWalt 14 inch 3 HP that I run a Woodworker on now. I actually have several 14 inch blades for it (collected over the years) but just because it's a 14 inch doesn't mean you have to run that size blade. I've had better luck running 12 inch blades on mine most of the time because I just don't really need the depth of cut very often. I just think it's easier on the motor especially on startups - and I turn mine on often when I'm working out there.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New Hill, NC
    Posts
    2,231
    You might check with the Original Saw Company. They bought out Dewalt's tooling and still manufacture the saws. My 16" has an old Systimatic blade on it, but they have gone out of business.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Princeton, NJ
    Posts
    5,963
    Blog Entries
    7
    Might be worth contacting CT Saw in Connecticut. I just ordered a blade from them, they're boring it for the unique arbor on my Ulmia tablesaw. I'd imagine they deal with specialty type stuff on the regular.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •