Thread: HELP - Laser loses power 1 milliamp an hour and it isnt the tube or water chiller...

HELP - Laser loses power 1 milliamp an hour and it isnt the tube or water chiller...

Please please can someone help me.

I have a 150w LS5598 Boss Laser (5'x12' size) running it at 85% power at 19mm/s on 1/4" plywood.

But over time (total of 45 min) it's been slowly dropping in power from 28 milliamps down to 27 and keeps going. By that time the machine struggles to cut through and it starts getting smoky real quick.

I've been battling this f-ing laser for the last 3 years and the last 3 weeks have pushed me to my limit. In that time span, ive replaced the xaxis motor, the laser tube, a proximity sensor, and the x-axis pulley too.

However, after getting it ALL installed and ready to work, i finally go to start up the cut job, the laser fires perfectly for the first 30 min. Until i noticed the milliamp reader is lower than it was initally.

The water chiller is fresh, clean and i even changed its temps from 20 deg Celsius to 15 deg celsius with no real improvement.

Power supply isn't new but it also isn't old. The tube was replaced because i had broken the previous one. The old setup worked fine but then I installed this 150 watt GSI tube and this happens, is it a power supply issue?

LENS AND MIRRORS ARE ALIGNED AND CLEAN. PLUS THESE DONT AFFECT THE MILLIAMP READER GOING DOWN.

I would truly appreciate any help in this matter.
    Regards,
    Brady

What chiller do you have. It sounds like the water maybe heating up

Blog Entries
    Is the chiller staying at your set temp? 15 as set point is low, is it going up to 25?
    How about the PS? is it getting hot in the cabinet? I'd maybe open it up and put fan on it to see if it is heating up.
    You might have bad cooling fan on it.
    Woodworking, Old Tools and Shooting
    Ray Fine RF-1390 Laser Ray Fine 20watt Fiber Laser
    SFX 50 Watt Fiber Laser
    PM2000, Delta BS, Delta sander, Powermatic 50 jointer,