Thread: Jet lathe 1642 disaster! PLEASE help

Jet lathe 1642 disaster! PLEASE help

Hi guys, first post here and it's ugly.

So I'm a luthier by trade and I NEED my lathe.

I've been running a Jet 1642 for years. Recently there was a storm while I was out of town and I believe it fried my inverter. Either way, the inverter was clearly dead. So, in the interest of simplicity and speed I ordered a replacement inverter (non-returnable of course) and had it rushed to me. Got it wired in today, started it up and the error code "Lu" popped. As best I can tell, it appears to be a problem with the motor. Is it p;ossible..or likely... that the motor is a victim of the same storm?

Thanks guys..

David Boisvert
    Last edited by Thom Sturgill; 03-22-2020 at 7:59 AM. Reason: link to external site removed

I googled "vfd error code lu" just to see what results come up. "lu" comes up as low voltage. Are you using 120vac but the inverter is set for 240vac? Did it come with an installation manual?

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Danstrom View Post
    I googled "vfd error code lu" just to see what results come up. "lu" comes up as low voltage. Are you using 120vac but the inverter is set for 240vac? Did it come with an installation manual?
    If it's the stock Delta S1 inverter the manual is available for download.

If it came from Jet it should have all the programming done but it wouldn't hurt to check. If you bought one elsewhere you will likely have to program it before use.

I don't see a "lu" code listed but there is an "lv" code which is low voltage. Page 7-3 in the manual has a flow chart for debugging low voltage.

JKJ

Jet 1642 VFD parameters

I copied these from one of my 1642s.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Jet 1642 VFD parameters Delta VFD-S series, 115 volt version
    (I made a note in my manual that this is VFD0075S11A style as shown on pg c-12)

The Jet/Powermatic unlock code is 506.