Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hammer A3 noise...

Hammer A3 noise...

My Hammer A3 31 just started making this clicking noise when running; see video at link HERE. It happens in both jointer and planer mode, so it's not related to the planer rollers. The belt seems to have the right amount of tension, and if I turn the belt by hand then I can hear some clicking coming from either the motor or the pulley (not sure which). Otherwise the unit seems to work perfectly fine, and I'm still able to joint and plane pieces without problem.

Is my motor going bad? This thing is only about 3 years old, and I'm a hobbyist that doesn't put in all that much time in the shop. One would hope the motor isn't dying already. Any ideas?

I haven't yet called Felder support, but I am going to post this in the Felder Group USA Support thread here on the Creek.
    And there was trouble, taking place...

Can't quite hear what the problem is. Is it that low-frequency noise that is most obvious around 0:12?

Have you tried disengaging the planer feed rollers (via the lever) to see if that changes it?

Check the pulleys on both the planer head and motor to see if the set screws are tight and the pulleys in proper alignment. My cheap TS makes a sound like that if/when the set screw in the pulley on the arbor gets loose.

John

Blog Entries
    Belts might be starting to break.
    Bumbling forward into the unknown.

Quote Originally Posted by Dan Friedrichs View Post
    Can't quite hear what the problem is. Is it that low-frequency noise that is most obvious around 0:12?

Have you tried disengaging the planer feed rollers (via the lever) to see if that changes it?
    Yes, it's that "rat-a-tat-tat" sound that's very prominent near the end as the cutter head is stopping. That's completely new; it never did that in nearly 3 years of ownership. And the planer rollers are not engaged here, however the exact same sound occurs regardless.

Quote Originally Posted by John TenEyck View Post