Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations for starter LVLP gun

Recommendations for starter LVLP gun

Hello. I need to paint some plywood bookshelves and later some wood moldings for window trim. I'm new to spray painting. Can anyone recommend an affordable LVLP gun (like up to $50 max) and any other equipment I'll need to get started. I know I also need an oil and water filter for the air line, but not sure what else. Thanks!

What's the rating of your compressor at 40 psi? And what specific products do you want to spray?

I live in the NE and have gotten by with just the standard combo pressure regulator oil/water separator on my compressor, an additional one downstream near my spray gun to set final pressure, and a cheap HF inline filter at the inlet to my spray gun. Depending upon typical RH conditions where your compressor is located you may be OK with something similar, or you may need substantially more equipment.

John

A fair number of people have reported success with the Harbor Freight "purple" gun. I have no personal experience. I have a Porter Cable PSH-1 conversion gun and Earlex 5000 rig. The Porter-Cable gun (no longer available AFAIK) worked fine with a modest wheeled oilless compressor. That compressor has an 11 gal. tank and rated at 8 CFM@40psi. I suspect the 8 cfm is on the optimistic side and I don't recall ever running out of air. I found with the P-C gun running 25 - 30 PSI worked well. Conversion guns have internal pressure reduction of about 3:1 so 25 psi at the inlet would result in 8 psi at the air cap.

I have a Makita Mac 5200 that does 6.9 CFM @ 40 PSI. I would like to be able to spray primers and latex paint, the high-quality waterborne variety for trim, cabinets, etc., like the SW Pro Classic.