Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DC Experts...Question...

DC Experts...Question...

I've got a Laguna C/Flux 2 DC. Lots of suction, but when I plane and joint, I get lots of shavings after the filter, causing the small bag to fill up. My suspicion is that I might be getting air leakage at the joint between cyclone and bin. Other than that, I'm stumped. I'm not looking to bash the DC, but rather, find a solution. Thanks for the help.

Quote Originally Posted by Derek Arita View Post
    I've got a Laguna C/Flux 2 DC. Lots of suction, but when I plane and joint, I get lots of shavings after the filter, causing the small bag to fill up. My suspicion is that I might be getting air leakage at the joint between cyclone and bin. Other than that, I'm stumped. I'm not looking to bash the DC, but rather, find a solution. Thanks for the help.
    Derek, I'm no expert and have not seen that DC nor know how it's made, but on other cyclones an air leak in or below the cone can create air movement which blows chips and things to the filter. On my ClearVue it is easy to see exactly what's going on inside - even talcum-fine dust gets dumped into the bin with almost nothing going to the filters. On another, you might first check your bin for leaks then the seal between the bin and the lid, then the connection. One way to test is with a smoke stick - start the thing running and move the smoke source around close to the suspect areas and see if there is a draft pulling air in. Another way I might test is wrap the top of the bin and connections with thin plastic wrap like saran wrap and see if that reduces or eliminates the draft.