Thread: Is this a Hammer A3-31?

Is this a Hammer A3-31?

About to pull the trigger on a hammer a3-31 jointer planer when the obvious hit me - it lacks the logo!?

Is this a knock off that anyone recognizes? Is there a legitimate older model that doesn't have the Hammer logo on the front?

Thx!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Sure looks like one to me. I have the A3-41 and the style, color and switch looks like the Hammer machine.

It's similar for sure, don't know if it's an older model.

It's not exactly the same as my 2018 A3-31

My 2001-vintage A3-31 has a plate riveted to it with the model number, date of manufacture, voltage, the manufacturer's name, and many other bits of information. I'd expect a newer Hammer to have a similar plate. I presume you're going to see this machine, and run lumber through it. When you do that, look for the plate.

I am a new woodworker here and I can't see your picture, but the older A3-31 had a gull wing table opening. Since about 2011-ish hammer went to a parallel pivot. They have changed their colors slightly. but they should have a name plate on the back of the machine. I have one of their newer machines and used many of their older machines.

Quote Originally Posted by jesse ross View Post
    About to pull the trigger on a hammer a3-31 jointer planer when the obvious hit me - it lacks the logo!?

Is this a knock off that anyone recognizes? Is there a legitimate older model that doesn't have the Hammer logo on the front?

Thx!
    Jesse, it is ... with the fence installed incorrectly and bed hold downs positioned differently.

Mine with an extension piece for the bed ...

Regards from Perth

Derek

It looks like one to me.

Check with Hammer regarding the serial number if you're concerned.

Regards, Rod.

Interesting...