Thread: Hammer A3 or Minimax fs30

Hammer A3 or Minimax fs30

I am a hobby woodworker with a small shop and I plan to upgrade my Jet 6 inch joiner and Dewalt lunch box planer with a combination machine. I have had my heart set on the Hammer A3 with silent head but have run across a sale on the Minimax fs30 with their Xylent head from First Choice Industrial which makes it $500 cheaper than the A3. I have read lots of reviews to know they are both great machines and as a hobby woodworker both would be a great upgrade for me. In a few years I would like to upgrade to the Hammer K3 winner to replace my Delta Unisaw but Minimax has come in to play. My question is does the price difference make the Minimax a no brainer and has anyone seen the Hammer A3 go on sale which would make the price close to equal to the fs30 X? I am in no hurry and want to make the right choice. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Randy

I recently ordered a Hammer A3. The quote included a "Spring Promotion". Suggest contacting Felder to make sure you are comparing their lowest price.

Bob

Hi Randy. I do not own a jointer /planer. However I do have a couple Felder machines and a Minimax shaper and have owned another Minimax machine in the past. My perspective is they are both great machines either one will be a huge upgrade for you. It is a six of one half dozen of the other prospect. Which ever one you buy I am sure you will be very happy. If both machines have the features that you want ,go with price. Good luck,Mike.

When you're comparing prices, check that you're including freight and delivery charges.