Thread: Introduction & my workbench build

Introduction & my workbench build

Hello,

Have been meaning to write my first post from a long time, I guess I find introductions difficult.

I am an Engineer by trade, and have interest is woodworking and photography. Got interested in woodworking in school days but never pursued the hobby. Few years back we bought a house and I started doing small projects. It sparked the interest again.

Started making small stools, boxes, shelves, DIY jobs around house etc. If I have to summarize, I managed to cut and butt joint wood to make utility stuff. I made a workbench using 2x4s and plywood. Nothing fancy, simple frame using lag bolts and 2 layers of plywood. After workbench I made I router table as well, which did not see much use. Did I mention I love buying tools?

I have been a silent reader at sawmillcreek.org for some 1-1.5 years now. Last year sometime in January I read about Roubo Workbench. Came across Christopher Schwarz's blog. Realized why my workbench did not see any use. My workbench was not flat (1/2" dip in center) and was some 37" high (I am 5'7"). Not to mention had a multi-purpose vise as the main vise.

Last year, I told wife I would make a jewelry box for her. Bought some nice Purple Heart. Huh! It comes rough. Sanding does not make it flat. I know, don't laugh. Next came a plane from Homedepot. Did not work. Damn! You need to sharpen tools before using them. Anyway, router made it kind of smooth and flat. Now came plans from internet and so did so many types of joints. Well I realized the gap between my skills, tools and output I wanted. The project was put on hold.