Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sometimes the stars align...

Sometimes the stars align...

This morning I went to an estate sale. The only reason I went was because there was one bad pic of what could or couldn't be a 10-drawer Craftsman toolbox. It looked pretty ratty but I need one or two drawers to fix an old Craftsman gray & red toolbox I've got. Turned out if wasn't a Craftsman so from that perspective - swinging strike! I certainly didn't go thinking I would see any hand planes but...

I was hardly in the work shop and I spot one under a table - it's a Stanley! No good - beat up, rusted, broken, missing parts and a #4 to boot which I've got. A little further deeper into the shop I spot 2 hand planes and 3 block planes lurking on a shelf. Sadly, it's the same story as the previous plane although one of the hand planes was a Shelton and this is my first time to spot one in the wild. That's cool! Now I've circled all the way around and I'm back at the door. I check the first workbench by the door where earlier I'd grabbed a Ridgid 3-head pipe threader and some how there is a Stanley plane I looked all around and missed the first time! I immediately notice it's too long to be a #4 or #5 and too short to be a #7 or #8. It's the #6 that I've been hoping to pick up for quite a while!! Rusty and dirty, tote is broken and I'll probably replace it. Plane iron is likely not correct but it's a Sweetheart. The adjustment lever has got a little wave bend in it which will need to be straightened. The lever cap is a Bedrock! I don't believe the plane is an early Bedrock. It doesn't have the square sides and the body has the 1910 patent date and I think by that time (1925-1928) Stanley was squaring off the sides of the Bedrock planes. So I'll also need to locate an correct lever cap but the Bedrock will work until that happens.