Thread: Finishing steps for PureBond hardwood plywood

Finishing steps for PureBond hardwood plywood

I recently bought some of the 3/4" PureBond poplar veneer plywood from HD and am going to build a computer desk with it. Since this is my first time using the product I wanted to make sure my finishing process was correct. I'm most likely going to use a dye-stain like Trans Tint or Keda Dye. Still need to do some more research.

My thought process so far for finishing.

1. 2 coats of Charles Neil's pre-color conditioner.
    2. Dye-stain (however many coats needed to get desired color)
    3. Zinsser Sealcoat (reduced to 1/2lb cut with denatured alcohol)
    4. Topcoat.

I'm not sure if I need to do any sanding between steps, or if I should pre-wet the plywood and sand down the fuzzies before step 1.

For a topcoat I'm looking at something like General Finishes Arm R Seal or even Bar & Table top epoxy.

The top of the desk is made up of a 2'x6' piece, with a 1'x1.5' section attached to the front on each side.Computer Desk Design2.pngThat's going to be the biggest section to deal with.

Also, if I wanted to separate out different areas to use different colors of dye-stain, and I use something like blue painter's tape or even pin-striping tape, will the dye-stain bleed under this at all or should it leave crisp lines?

Welcome Derik. Columbia Purebond poplar plywood is not a bad product for some applications, but it would not be my choice for a desk to be finished as you want to do. With all the hours you are going to put into making it, I would start with a higher quality material to make it from. But regardless of what material you use, here are some comments to your questions.