Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Router Setup

New Router Setup

I'm looking for feedback from people who have upgraded their router setup to using a lift, fence with dust collection and other features.

I have been using the same basic setup for about twenty years. PC 690 in a homemade table and a simple fence. The primary reason for an upgrade is to get better dust collection. Like many of us, I have some heath issues that are exasperated by wood dust.

My first thought that I would just build a simple box, with a 4" dust port, and some type of down draft collection. The box would require some way to access the router for height adjustment and bit changes. That leads to thinking about a whole new system with lift and a fence with dust collection.

I expect that many members have already made the switch and have feedback about products and their value.

Thanks - Frank

I sold my cast iron table and went with an extension on my tablesaw. Saves space. The extension is Excalibur. I chose it because I could let supports and liked the fence.

I went with an incra lift (woodpecker with magnetic inserts). Love it: fast and accurate.

For dust collection, in addition to the fence port, I piped in the Dust Router from Milescraft. The hose on that isn't much, but the cup is well worth it. Attach the cup to the bottom of the magnetic inserts using velcro. When used with the fence I get near zero sawdust. Works well with the lift.

To connect the shop dust collector I added a dust-rite port.

I left the router open for cooling and easy maintenance.

Then I built a little cabinet to hold all my router stuff that fits under the router and has a holder for the fence.

Not a cheap solution, but so nice! Works great and uses little extra shop space.

IMG_0954.jpgIMG_0958.jpgIMG_0973.jpgIMG_0976.jpgIMG_0951.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by tom lucas; 03-21-2019 at 8:23 PM.