Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 31 to 36 of 36

Thread: Dust Bin Sensor Completed

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tippecanoe County, IN
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Becker View Post
    You need a 240/120v four wire circuit to accomplish this on a single connection to your "mobile" DC setup. The fourth wire provides the neutral required for the 120v need. Alternatively...two separate cords.
    Or just get a wall wart that works on 240V. Actually, check the label on the existing one, most of the switching supplies now operate on a wide input voltage range.
    Beranek's Law:

    It has been remarked that if one selects his own components, builds his own enclosure, and is convinced he has made a wise choice of design, then his own loudspeaker sounds better to him than does anyone else's loudspeaker. In this case, the frequency response of the loudspeaker seems to play only a minor part in forming a person's opinion.
    L.L. Beranek, Acoustics (McGraw-Hill, New York, 1954), p.208.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by David L Morse View Post
    Or just get a wall wart that works on 240V. Actually, check the label on the existing one, most of the switching supplies now operate on a wide input voltage range.
    Thanks! I checked, and it does work with 240 volts. But that would mean adding another 220v outlet to my shop and an 220v extension cord. A lot of work to get 12 volts to the sensor box. I think I will probably just run a 120v extension cord parallel to the main cord for the dust collector. Or possibly extend the 12v output from the wall wart and run 12 volts to the box. I suspect that it doesn't draw very much power.

    Looks like the sensor Oneida sells has the same issue. Here is an image from a video on their site.

    Screen Shot 2019-06-15 at 9.19.50 AM.jpg

    Bob

    p.s. I like you Leo Beranek quote. I used to work at Bolt, Beranek, and Newman a while back.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Hinden View Post
    Thanks! I checked, and it does work with 240 volts. But that would mean adding another 220v outlet to my shop and an 220v extension cord. A lot of work to get 12 volts to the sensor box. I think I will probably just run a 120v extension cord parallel to the main cord for the dust collector. Or possibly extend the 12v output from the wall wart and run 12 volts to the box. I suspect that it doesn't draw very much power.
    I did some searches on Amazon and found a 20ft 12 volt extension cord. See:

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07K58LF9Q..._pOtbDbZE3XVB3

    I think that will work, and ordered one. Only $7.

    Bob

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Tippecanoe County, IN
    Posts
    470
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Hinden View Post
    ...that would mean adding another 220v outlet to my shop and an 220v extension cord. A lot of work to get 12 volts to the sensor box...
    I can understand you not wanting to hack your new DC just to tap into the power.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Hinden View Post
    ...p.s. I like you Leo Beranek quote. I used to work at Bolt, Beranek, and Newman a while back.
    Thanks, I think it may apply to more than just loudspeakers.
    Beranek's Law:

    It has been remarked that if one selects his own components, builds his own enclosure, and is convinced he has made a wise choice of design, then his own loudspeaker sounds better to him than does anyone else's loudspeaker. In this case, the frequency response of the loudspeaker seems to play only a minor part in forming a person's opinion.
    L.L. Beranek, Acoustics (McGraw-Hill, New York, 1954), p.208.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    9,408
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Hinden View Post
    I received all of the parts from China via eBay, and also a box and some terminal blocks from Amazon.

    I put it together today, did the setup, and it appears to work. See attached pictures.

    Attachment 411254Attachment 411253Attachment 411255

    I have not yet attached it to the dust collector, the first pictures show where it will be installed. I am also not sure how sensitive it needs to be, but mine does have an adjustment screw on the sensor.

    Also, now I need how to bring 110v to a 220v dust collector and keep it mobile.

    Bob
    Hi Bob, if you need the 120 volts for the DC supply, just buy a universal input (120/240) volt DC supply.

    Thatís what I did......Regards, Rod

  6. #36
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Hinden View Post
    I did some searches on Amazon and found a 20ft 12 volt extension cord. See:

    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07K58LF9Q..._pOtbDbZE3XVB3

    I think that will work, and ordered one. Only $7.
    It arrived yesterday, I tried it out, it works fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •