Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Chisel sharpening - difficulties

Chisel sharpening - difficulties

I'm a novice and am looking for insight into what I'm doing wrong.

I'm using the Veritas Mk II sharpening jig. After flattening the back, I'm setting a 25 degree bevel first on the 300 and then 1000 stone. When I go to do the micro-bevel it's clear that something is not straight based on the results. I've gone through the process several times with consistent results.

I've double checked that the chisel is sits square to the fence (both before & after), and am tightening the clamp knobs evenly. I'm applying even pressure to both sides of the chisel.

What am I doing wrong?

IMG_20190220_211041.jpg
    Last edited by Bryce Walter; 02-20-2019 at 10:27 PM. Reason: fixed: a word

Bryce I use the same guide. The most obvious reason is twisting the guide as you push it across the stone or perhaps just at the end of the stroke. However the most obvious reason is also very unlikely.
    It is trickier than you think to get it square, check it with a small square after removing the guide alignment.
    If it is truly square and pushed in a straight line parallel to the edge of the stone the edge will be square.
    ​You can do a lot with very little! You can do a little more with a lot!

I do a similar thing. I establish my primary 25 degree bevel on a WorkSharp and then put a secondary bevel on an 8000 water stone by hand.

What I'd recommend is that you not use the jig for the secondary bevel - just hold the chisel. Do a couple of passes and look at the secondary bevel. It may be starting to "one-side" like you show. That's because of the way you're holding the chisel. Compensate by putting more pressure on the side that's thinner. You'll pick up the technique quickly.

Mike
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.