Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tinting epoxy opaque black...

Tinting epoxy opaque black...

Not sure where to put this post so I'll start here. Hey everyone, it's been a while since I posted.

Anyway, I'm looking to turn a platter with roughly 25% of it being opaque black epoxy resin. I've seen a few products out there that claim to do this but I have no experience with them. The only thing I've read of significance is that while analine dyes will not effect the strength of epoxy it does not resolve in epoxy and wood shavings or whatever need to be used.

Does anyone have any experience in tinting epoxy an opaque color? If so, could you recommend a product.

Since I'm going for black, should I use that epoxy I've seen that dries almost like a dark gray. I dont remember what that stuff is called but I believe it's much cheaper.

Thanks in advance.

Resin obsession and several others do opaque colors. Any of the opaque colorants should do what your looking for and they are only like 10$ a bottle so you can do a small test if needed. I wouldnt be fiddling around with anything that would jeopardize the epoxy but Im sure people are dumping anything and everything in these goofy epoxy pours and cashing the check

I used a black colorant from System Three that worked well.

I've used graphite powder (available cheap from farm stores), and it works well. The graphite also serves as a UV blocker and lubricant as the epoxy wears down. Some people use such a composite to make the wetted surfaces of sailboats slicker.

Also used lampblack (powdered carbon) which works well, but the graphite is cheaper. I've also heard of using laser/copier toner. Lots of things will work just fine. Two drops of India ink would probably do what you want, though I've never tried it.

Quote Originally Posted by Michael Costa View Post