Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 43

Thread: Laguna Revo 1836 Electronics Problems

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    Laguna Revo 1836 Electronics Problems

    About 8 months ago, my lathe began acting up; it would lose power but didn't seem to be the motor. I contacted Laguna and they sent me new switches for the electronics governing the variable speeds. Great service and it worked -- until now. My lathe is starting to sporadically lose power again. Anyone else having similar issues?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    1,202
    Probably the potentiometer again. Those are cheaply made and need to be replaced often. Many Grizzly lathe owners keep a couple in stock. If you do a search here on the Grizzly potentiometer, you should see the issue.
    https://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthr...athe&styleid=4
    Last edited by Richard Coers; 01-19-2019 at 11:03 PM.

  3. #3
    Not sure what you mean by " lose power". Is the motor shutting off? I have an issue with my Revo 24/36 whereby (on occasion) there's no, or incorrect digital readout when the motor is spinning properly. Are we talking about the same thing. If so, I'm also interested in getting feedback.

  4. #4

    Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by Edward Weingarden View Post
    Not sure what you mean by " lose power". Is the motor shutting off? I have an issue with my Revo 24/36 whereby (on occasion) there's no, or incorrect digital readout when the motor is spinning properly. Are we talking about the same thing. If so, I'm also interested in getting feedback.
    No, there doesn't seem to be a problem with the motor. The switches they had me replace the first time were in the control box in the headstock. Seems to be the same issue; motor is running fine but getting the wrong signals.....

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Abernathy View Post
    [...] The switches they had me replace the first time were in the control box in the headstock. Seems to be the same issue; motor is running fine but getting the wrong signals.....
    I have had no issues with the electronics after a year and a half... And I am skeptical that you experienced TWO switch/pot failures in a relatively short time... A likely cause is one or more intermittent connections that temporarily improved when moved around as you replaced the switch and pot -- and vibration over time caused the issue to reoccur.

    I remember seeing a wiring diagram and the connections between the controls and inverter were pretty straightforward. If you have a digital multi-meter or simple continuity tester, you could try to wiggle some wires to look for a sketchy connection (unplugged!!). Or, just replace the crimp connectors as a shotgun approach...

    "Remember, there's always a reason, but sometimes we just don't know what it is..." And I am sure you will find it!

    Ely

  6. #6

    potentiometer quality

    If it's the potentiometer then just get a military spec potentiometer, look for the mil spec designation, it will cost like $10.00 compared to the cheaply originals. The fine dust gets every where and the cheap open wire wound potentiometers fail easily, the mil speck ones are closed case and will last.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    69
    If you find that source and Part Number please post. I just got an Revo 18/36 220V and will want to keep this information handy.
    I would also say to check all your wiring attachment points to make sure no screws have come lose.

  8. #8
    Hi Bob,

    I suspect that the problem with your Revo may be the relay. I bought the 18-36 right when they came out and less than 6 mos I was having the problem you are describing. The lathe would be humming along and the power would just quit. I'd wiggle something on the display panel and it'd start back up. Then out again and so forth. I called Laguna and they sent me a replacement kill switch but no help. Next they sent a replacement relay; that was it. About 2 yrs later it started doing it again so I called and gave them my old case #. They promptly sent me another one, but for some reason the problem stopped and I haven't needed to install it.

    Installing the relay was like putting a ship in a bottle- they've stuffed to much into the tiny space under the display panel and I broke a wire pin pushing it all back in.

    As mentioned elsewhere here, the Laguna customer service was great, prompt, and knew the lathe well.

    Good luck with it.

    Steve

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Haubstadt (Evansville), Indiana
    Posts
    1,129
    Haven't had that problem with my 2 year old lathe. I recently started using it like John Keeton described. I turn it on and used the speed control to stop it. I only press the stop when turning it off when finished and unplugging. I figure there is less operation of the switches and relay doing that.
    When working I had more money than time. In retirement I have more time than money. Love the time, miss the money.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Beaufort, SC
    Posts
    48
    Edward Weingarden

    I had problems with my REVO 18/36 digital Readout. Gradually each number stopped displaying. I went into the box and saw that the 1/8" thick number display card had about 12 pins on the back that inserted into contact holes on a small board. The pins in the holes were not a tight fit. So I soldered each of the pins in the metal contact holes and I no Longer have that problem.

    Joe Frank Porter

    I just realized this original thread was posted in January and recently revived. Nonetheless, You Laguna Revo owners can see how I solved my particular problem.
    Last edited by Joe Frank Porter; 04-05-2019 at 12:27 PM.

  11. #11
    William,
    Thank you for sharing your experience. I have been following your suggestion for three days now and have not had a single episode of an erroneous digital reading, nor has the motor has stopped.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    sykesville, maryland
    Posts
    267
    For what it cost you'd think they'd make it work as intended. Pity one has to tape over the switch to use the thing.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Haubstadt (Evansville), Indiana
    Posts
    1,129
    Quote Originally Posted by Edward Wargo View Post
    William,
    Thank you for sharing your experience. I have been following your suggestion for three days now and have not had a single episode of an erroneous digital reading, nor has the motor has stopped.
    I have been operating this way also and now getting use to using the speed dial to stop the lathe.
    john Keeton first posted this as how he uses his lathe

    Quote Originally Posted by tom lucas View Post
    For what it cost you'd think they'd make it work as intended. Pity one has to tape over the switch to use the thing.
    It is a much safer way to operate any lathe IMO. You are not starting at a high speed. The tape is only a reminder to use the speed dial to stop the lathe
    When working I had more money than time. In retirement I have more time than money. Love the time, miss the money.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    sykesville, maryland
    Posts
    267
    Quote Originally Posted by William C Rogers View Post

    It is a much safer way to operate any lathe IMO. You are not starting at a high speed. The tape is only a reminder to use the speed dial to stop the lathe
    It's safer yet to never turn the lathe on or ever pick up a tool. Of course it's safer, but I still don't buy it. I want my lathe to quickly return to the exact sweet spot I had it set to without having to fiddle with the speed knob every time. If I walk away from the lathe, I always turn the speed knob to zero. But only if I walk away, or make major changes to the setup. Also most lathes start slowly and build up to full speed, usually leaving enough time to turn it off if something isn't right. Using the "no-switch" method will also lead to premature potentiometer failure. Should one really have to tape off an OEM switch and then replace the pot on a regular basis? Everyone has their own way they do things. But, this smells like just making excuses for a faulty design. Maybe they should just not include a switch at all? Seems like they may as well have done that if all it is is a faux switch that you can't really use. Glad I didn't buy one myself.
    Last edited by tom lucas; 05-02-2019 at 11:39 PM.

  15. #15
    I have had a merry go round experience with my Laguna 18-36, extending close to the entire time I have owned it. Power loss, and digital readout failures. Laguna has sent me three replacement headstocks, all of which have the same issue. The last communication I had with the company came from the actual manufacturer who blames electro magnetic interference at my residence. It is a source of distraction that I would like to resolve and am glad to have found this forum where others have had a similar experience.
    My lathe is the center piece of my shop and is used daily. I'm going to explore the suggestions made at this forum and will provide updated results from my experience.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •