Thread: it's been a while here's my first unplugged project

it's been a while here's my first unplugged project

IMG_5850.jpgIMG_5848.jpgAfter quite some time collecting tools and learning what sharp really is, I started practicing my sawing,chisel work and dovetails. A month ago I finally got down to work building this Dutch tool chest to house my tool collection. It is my first real project and while it's not perfect it is solid and functions as I need it.
    Last edited by Vinnie Lopez; 01-09-2019 at 10:16 AM.

Nice work.

Hand tool work can be quite therapeutic!

IMG_5761.jpgMy dovetails were not perfect but I think they came out ok for only being my third set of hand cut dovetails everything else has been on small practice boards. I'm certain I will continue to improve the quality of my work in the future.

Quote Originally Posted by Vinnie Lopez View Post
    IMG_5761.jpgMy dovetails were not perfect but I think they came out ok for only being my third set of hand cut dovetails everything else has been on small practice boards. I'm certain I will continue to improve the quality of my work in the future.
    Those look pretty good to me!

Thank you after some practice on small boards I took a different approach to chopping out the waste that really reduced the amount of time I spent removing waste. Rather than chopping out the waste close to the scribe line I would take one chop near the line taking care that my chisel wouldn’t drift into and past the line. Then I would chop from the end remove that sliver and repeat. I found it to be much faster. Then flip the board and repeat from the other side. Finally some minor cleanup up to the scribe line. This may sound trivial to more experienced woodworkers but for a newbie a breakthrough that gives you that ah ha moment is beautiful.