Thread: Storing Wood Glue??

Storing Wood Glue??

The tip of my Titebond glue gets crusty and over time becomes difficult to use. There is nothing easier than a new bottle when gluing up. Is there something I can do to improve storing wood glue?

Get a squeeze bottle that has a cap for the tip. For me that's a $1 tomato sauce bottle from the supermarket but that depends on how important tomato sauce is in you culture. If you like to keep the original bottle, frequent cleaning is the best option but always make sure it is capped properly between jobs. Also keep an eye on shelf life. Only buy what you can use within that shelf life. While it's not dead if it's a bit over, it's is more difficult to us. Cheers

I use retired mustard bottles with a twist top to dispense Titebond 1. I do have to clean the tip from time to time but they are nice for laying down a consistent bead of glue. I have been using the same two bottles for 12 years or so but one of them has recently finally worn out. I've got my eye on a new mustard bottle in the fridge and when it finally becomes empty in another year or two I'll take it to the shop for a spare.
    Zach

My approach is to let the wood glue dry on the cap of the original glue squeeze bottle after use. My theory is it helps seal the glue inside and it takes about 1 second to peel it off for next use as it doesn’t stick permanently to the plastic. A pain maybe but not a big deal.

On rollers, spreaders and table mats I use silicone though so I can wash it up after each use.

Blog Entries