Thread: Introduction and my first post... a Christmas catapult

Introduction and my first post... a Christmas catapult

Hello!

My name is David and I'm just starting out with woodworking.

I live in an apartment, so my projects are greatly limited by noise, space and dust collection. This means I mainly use hand tools, but I'm discovering that some jobs (routing, sanding etc.) are considerably faster with a few power tools thrown into the mix.

I really am a beginner however, so I spend an lot of time exploring my tools, and fixing (hiding!) my mistakes. I'm learning that I enjoy working slowly and mindfully.

I hope to meet and learn from you all!

The Christmas Catapult

Here's my latest little project for the kids. But really to test a new tennon saw from Santa

I'm not sure what type of catapult it is. The internet seems split between onager and mangonel.

Catapult Collage - 1280w.jpg

Wood is basic pine.

I planned to use glued butt joints except for lap joints on the cross-bar to take the impact. However, I decided to reinforce the verticals and diagonals with screws, as constant firing might eventually crack the glue.

I also added some small secondary lap joints to the cross-bar, to prevent the inward pulling force of the wound rope collapsing the frame.

Finally, my wife unknowingly donated a kitchen spoon.

The kids love it. They set up breakable forts and try to knock down the walls. The cat remains understandably suspicious.

What would I improve?

Gluing the stop dowels was a mistake. I can't increase the twists to add more power. If I made this again, I would either use removable stop dowels or make a simple ratchet and pawl system. It's meant to be a kid's toy however, so maybe it's a good thing to limit the power.

I would also add some height (maybe wheels) to give the the firing arm some clearance underneath.

Finally, I'd add another cross-bar just after the rope, to prevent bending inwards from the twist force.