Page 1 of 12 1234511 ... LastLast

Thread: Educate me on Shapers

Educate me on Shapers

So I thought I had all the power tools that I would ever need, naive, I know.

I was watching a woodworking show on PBS and my daughter asked me if I had all the tools the guy was using on the show, and then I realized that I didn't own a Shaper.

I have two routers in lifts in router tables, one with a PC75182. So I'm trying to decide whether a Shaper would be a useful addition to the shop.

I'm just a hobbyist, but don't spare reasonable expense when I get the desire for a tool.

I'm looking at and trying to educate myself on 3HP-5HP Shapers in the $1500-$2400 range, 230V single phase. So far it looks like my choices are Grizzly, Laguna, Jet and ShopFox.

And should I consider a power feeder?

So what should I not compromise on, spindle size, multiple speeds, throat plate size?

This will also probably be one of those tools that I may definitely look for used as well.

Thanks

Search the archives. There are days if not weeks of full time reading on shapers. A mile of it very recently covered and several thousand miles more in the not so distant past. All completely relevant and all completely accessible with the "search box". The search box is a very handy tool.

Chris
    It really depends on what you do.
    If you have the room, and the budget supports it, yes.
    There are multitudes of shapers for sale on Craigslist all over the country. For much less $$$$ than new, you can by a shaper with a power feeder and cutters, and all for less than the cost of a new shaper alone.

Blog Entries
    Shapers and feeders are dirt cheap.. tooling is the expensive part.

Get both