Thread: Word wall intro and request

Word wall intro and request

Hi,

My name is Chris Thain. I would like your help with Japanese tools, specifically chisels and planes.

Long time lurker, but new member. I apologize for the abruptness of a word wall, one of many you guys must receive. Time is not my friend, and I am becoming more direct. Talking personally to people is easier than messages, I think, and the efficiency of communication and flow of conversation is becoming as rare as hen's teeth, but that may say more about me than the general feeling in a good forum. For brevity's sake, I am a late beginner to hand tools, but have some experience whittling and sharpening carbon knives. I'm not much of a self-salesman, so I'm not sure what else to say in an introduction.

Directly, I want to buy quality Japanese chisels and a few planes. I am interested in people and their stories, but only interested in names where they can lead me to quality. Show over tell, and function over form, if I am making sense. My partner says I must make sense, but she hasn't figured out where yet.

I am putting together a small tool selection for me now, and for my son soon enough. The idea being to use, make, and learn while I can, and leave him a selection of solid quality tools for the future. Not in a framed, shrine, brought-out-on-holiday way - not that there is anything wrong with collections and obsessions - , but in a useful, personal way, that would give to him a bit of the late-found joy, pleasure, and sometimes frustration, in working by hand with tools meant for doing that. No gilt, only craft. I don't have gilt, and I am just starting on the craft part.