Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Quick finish for small spindle turnings

Quick finish for small spindle turnings

I've been turning for about 9 years and have made hundreds of bowls. But so far, only about a dozen spindle turned items, and 11 of them were tool handles.

But I've been asked to make some snowmen. Picture below is my first one, inspired by some that Curt Fuller posted on other forums.

I'd like to hear suggestions for easy to use finishes. I'm thinking that the wipe on ones that I usually use (wipe on poly or Antique Oil) would be more trouble than necessary.

So what do folks use for items like this? Perhaps while they are still on the lathe?

Thanks,
    Dave
    Attached Images Attached Images

Off set/multi axis turning for the hat? Cool! Not that I would know what snow or snowmen look like, but I would guess white latex paint. Snowmen should not look like wood. Just my $0.02.

CA glue? Thats what I used, if you want glossy.

If the hats are turned separately and the snowmen are not turned using an offset method. I would use a modified mandrel as a spur drive using a 3/8" hole in the bottom of the snowman. Then after turning, I would set them on a rotisserie type spinner and spray paint them with rattle can paint. Or just use a 3/8 dowel to hand spin while spraying.

I just soak them in BLO Boiled Linseed oil and let them cure. Nice real wood finish and easy. I have a few new videos of making these on my youtube Channel TurningRound if you want to see how I make them.
    IanParish.jpg
    I create videos on my channel TurningRound on youtube.

Some I use

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Bunge View Post
    I'd like to hear suggestions for easy to use finishes. I'm thinking that the wipe on ones that I usually use (wipe on poly or Antique Oil) would be more trouble than necessary.
    Dave,
    For quick finishes for spindles (on the lathe) I use: