Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tenon Shoulder Question

Tenon Shoulder Question

Just wondering... do you saw your tenon shoulders right to the line or do you saw close and chisel? If you use a chisel for getting down to the line, do you use a narrow or wide chisel? I'm relatively new to the craft and just wondering about the best way to get good, consistent and repeatable results.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnM Martin View Post
    Just wondering... do you saw your tenon shoulders right to the line or do you saw close and chisel? If you use a chisel for getting down to the line, do you use a narrow or wide chisel? I'm relatively new to the craft and just wondering about the best way to get good, consistent and repeatable results.
    I try to saw right to the line. Sometimes it fits right off the saw, but more often it doesn't.
    Generally you want to use as wide a chisel as you can for paring to make sure the tenon stays flat.

First of all, you really want a knife line all the way around the stock. Forty years ago Ian Kirby wrote an article for Fine Woodworking suggesting sawing 1/32 from the knife line and then putting the chisel in the knife line and paring down. If you use a 1 inch chisel, you can pare about a half inch at a time and let the other half of the chisel ride against the surface already pared.

Six months later Frank Klausz wrote in saying Kirby's method required a master craftsman with an extremely sharp chisel "and I beg the beginner to avoid it." I did not think I was a master craftsman or that it was particularly difficult.

Shortly after that I went to just sawing on the knife line, no trough to get started, just sawing. I have used this method ever since and it is the method outlined by Peter Nicholson who was a cabinetmaker in London in the late 1700s.