Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Do you need more than a basic bench plane set?

Do you need more than a basic bench plane set?

Hi everyone,

I've been building up my hand tool kit to focus on old school craftsmanship and have been following the thread about Veritas's next tool. Many seem to want a no 3.

Reading The Practical Woodworker had led me to believe that 3 bench planes should be in the basic hand tool set. I was thinking scrub plane for my next acquisition.

Having grown up in a block plane tradition, do I want one or more of the smaller bench planes? Are there jobs for which a block plane is unsuitable and a no 4 is too bulky?

For reference, I have a Miller's Falls no 9, Stanley 605C, Griffiths 22" try plane, and several block planes.

Going into new territory by choosing to try Neanderthal mode, any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

Kory
    Dojo Kun, 1: Be humble and polite.

I have been doing historic woodworking since 1970 and am a full time professional. I have never owned a power tool.

The historic bench plane kit is jack plane, trying plane, jointer plane, smoother plane and maybe a strike block plane. There are occasional extra planes like a long plane (short jointer) or a foreplane that is slightly different from a jack. When we see an old shop inventory with planes, we usually divide by four or five to figure how many men worked there. Historic drawings often have four planes on the shelf under the bench.

I use these bench planes:
    1. wooden jack plane 43 degrees
    2. wooden trying plane 43 degrees
    3. #7 jointer 45 degrees
    4. #3 smoother 45 degrees
    5. #4 smoother altered to 42 degrees and used on end grain.

This list is unchanged since 1983. I stopped using block planes in 1976.

Quote Originally Posted by Warren Mickley View Post
    I have been doing historic woodworking since 1970 and am a full time professional. I have never owned a power tool.