Thread: Christmas gadget ideas

Christmas gadget ideas

Hi all,

My wife and her family are looking for Christmas ideas for me.

What are some cool gadgets or ideas around 50-100$? I live ten minutes from woodpecker so I have a few ideas from them, digital angle finder, a better hand saw.

Any other ideas?

I’m a hobbyist who set up their first shop this year.

Blog Entries
    A Beall or Wixey angle indicator

A Veritas apron plane, you won;t believe how many times you will use it.

A Kreg jig set

A set of Forstner bits
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

Apron plane is a good idea.

I have the others besides the angle guide which I have on the list.

Thanks for the input!

We had a thread here 6 ms or so ago that gathered a ton of great tools for under $100. I just searched for it and couldnt find it. (DRAT!! That was a great thread!) The one I did find from a year ago has no price limit, but still had good stuff. LINK.

A few things from me though:
    * Transfer punches. It is amazing how often I use these. Read the description and see why. LINK.
    * A set of 4 inch dividers (I have 2 sets on my own Christmas list.)
    * Utilitas hook rules. I like these because the "0" is at one end, on one side, but at the other end on the other side. LINK
    * 4 inch double square. I like the ones made by PEC. Amazon sells several. They also sell 6". (I didnt see any at Harry Epstein today when I checked - they're cheaper there.)
    * Any Freud Quadri-cut router bit is a big winner
    * Router attachment for your Dremel
    * Holdfast(s) for your work bench. I like these.
    * Clamps.
    * Good screwdrivers.
    * Small size deadblow hammer. (I have 2.)
    * Brad point drill bits
    * Countersink bit