Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: plane advice needed

plane advice needed

I have no great experience with planes, and am in need of some intel. I have a Stanley #3, a Stanley #4 and a #5, a block plane and a shoulder plane. None of which were any good at all for planing this piece of walnut I got from a slab cut off. Is there a plane that would work? Low angle? Or is this grain mess just too crazy to try planing it. I set up the #3 to take a nice thin shaving off a piece of scrap maple, but it was a disaster on this. Dug in, chattered, skipped, etc. And the plane iron is plenty sharp.

20181201_174159.jpg20181201_174237.jpg20181201_174403.jpg
    Stand for something, or you'll fall for anything.

Not the expert either but I'm thinking high angle, like scraper plane, rather than low angle.

If you have any extra blades lying around for your bench planes, maybe putting a 10 degree back bevel on one could do some good.

May tru at 90 degrees to the grain? Going across instead of trying to go with the grain...or, tune up a #80 scraper plane....

Hi Bill

If your plane "Dug in, chattered, skipped, etc. And the plane iron is plenty sharp", then part of the problem likely lies with the plane itself. My thoughts are either that the blade is not secure (i.e. is loose), or that the mouth is not coplanar with the toe and heel (that is, with the plane blade down on a flat surface, the mouth is not touching. This forces one to extend the blade further than desired to make conttact with the work piece).

Assuming all is well, however, then I would plane with a closed up chipbreaker. That will definitely avoid any tearout.

Regards from Perth

Derek