Thread: Workshop vs Wetstones?

Workshop vs Wetstones?

Well, I finally took a close look at the Work Sharp, Onion Edition. It looks like it could be a pretty good sharpener, however I thought I'd ask opinions from those more experienced than I. I've been knife sharpening on the Tormek, for primary bevels, then wet stones from 1K, up to 8K to 15K, then leather strop. I'm no expert at it, but I can get the knives sharper by hand, than with the Tormek alone.
    All that said, the Work Sharp looks so fast and simple, but does it truly compare? Can I get a gleaming edge on the knife, at the proper angle? Thanks for the help!

Quote Originally Posted by Derek Arita View Post
    Well, I finally took a close look at the Work Sharp, Onion Edition. It looks like it could be a pretty good sharpener, however I thought I'd ask opinions from those more experienced than I. I've been knife sharpening on the Tormek, for primary bevels, then wet stones from 1K, up to 8K to 15K, then leather strop. I'm no expert at it, but I can get the knives sharper by hand, than with the Tormek alone.
    All that said, the Work Sharp looks so fast and simple, but does it truly compare? Can I get a gleaming edge on the knife, at the proper angle? Thanks for the help!
    Derek,

I've sharpening round heels, I've at least tried most systems and while the Worksharp works it is not the best system if you do have the skill to sharpen iron. The sandpaper is expensive and a paih to change and use. There are diamond disks available which would be cheaper in the long run. I Tried 'em, but by that time I had given up on the system and found a friend to give it to. Of course as with all things tools and wood, YMMV.

ken

The Onion version is very different from the woodworkers version, that looks like a Veritas MKII Powersharpener clone.

I think the Onion was designed for people who don't have the skill to sharpen freehand. It sounds like your skill is beyond this.

Blog Entries