Thread: Advice on how to proceed with this bowl? PICS

Advice on how to proceed with this bowl? PICS

This is my first attempt at turning a not so simple bowl, at least for me. Any ideas on how to proceed. I believe the wood is Mesquite.
    Odd bowl 001.jpgOdd bowl 002.jpgOdd bowl 003.jpg

Looks definitely to be Mesquite with the sapwood and worm holes. I would like to see a curve to a smaller base at the bottom and that can still be done as chucked or when removing the tenon after final hollowing out inside if inside curve is retained. The wall should be carefully turn thinner watching for the area around the worm holes. I would turn to about 1/4 to 3/8" wall going a little thicker if this is your first. Work the wall thickness down in 1" or so increments and DO NOT TRY TO GO BACK TO TURN THIN WALL after walls are turned thin. Mesquite is very stable with little shrinkage. The top edge has a cut section removing some of the natural edge. I suggest blending the curve and possibly torch the edge to get a "burnt rim" look being careful with the torch. Looks like a vacuum chuck can be used to remove the tenon or the old reliable jam chuck and live center method. Good start with natural edge bowl.